ChatBox
Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects

NEO NYAN TEAM

/
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects   Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:28 am

Continuous effects are effects that neither start a chain nor continue a chain. They are passive effects that will continue to affect the field while it remains face-up meaning they can activate during chain's if they're condition(s) are fulfilled.

Continuous effects do not have effects until their summon is successful before their effect takes place.

Ex. Jinzo can be negated and destroyed by Solemn Judgement.

Continuous effects are able to bypass Spell Speed 3 spells if they are on the field first.

Ex. Jinzo can prevent Solemn Judgment from activating.

Continuous effects are NEVER optional!

How to identify Continuous effects
There are many forms of texts for continuous effects, but they're usually worded with "While" or "if this card". The most common is stating that the monster is or has to be "Face-Up".

Confusion
Trigger Effects are also associated with "If this card", however they are optional. Keep in mind if the word "If" and "you can" are in the same sentence, it is not continuous.

Credits to Sinisterplantboy:
If a card text does not have a colon ( : ) or semi-colon ( ; ), it does not start a chain.

Replacement Effects
Cards with replacement effects like Gachi Gachi Gantetsu's "detach effect" do not start a chain; they are continuous. This is the only type of effect that bypasses the "optional rule" for continuous effects.

Cards with "If this face-up card would be _____, you can _____ instead." do not start chains.

Ex. of a Continuous Effect and Replacement Effect


Archlord Kristya


Attribute: Light
Level: 8
Type: Fairy/Effect
ATK/DEF: 2800/2300
Text: If you have exactly 4 Fairy-Type monsters in your Graveyard, you can Special Summon this card (from your hand). When you do: Target 1 Fairy-Type monster in your Graveyard; add that target to your hand. Neither player can Special Summon monsters. If this face-up card would be sent from the field to the Graveyard, it returns to the top of the Deck, instead.
Back to top Go down
 
Monster: Continuous and Replacement Effects
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Owen the monster wins appeal
» New church of the flying spaghetti monster by Albino and Moles
» If anyone bought the NIB Monster Bash on Ebay....
» Effects Of The Cold War Era In Canada
» The Debt Ceiling

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
NEO NYAN TEAM :: Team Forums :: Rulings-
Jump to: